B E R T H O U D   M E D I A   P R O D U C T I O N

I   HOME     I   FILM & VIDEO     I    FILM MUSIC    I    TRANSLATION    I   TEXT   I   CONSULTING      I   TEAM     I    CONTACT    I   deutsch   I

The Lost Leonardo

Leonardo da Vinci and the Portrait of

Isabella d’Este



In 2013 an oil painting attributed to Leonardo da Vinci appears in Lugano, the portrait of Isabella d'Este, Marchioness of Mantua. The owner of the painting, Emidia Cecchini, is about to sell it for 140 million euros when Italy accuses her of illegal export. The painting is confiscated, but Switzerland does not release it.


For 500 years it was not known whether Leonardo completed the portrait of Isabella d'Este, whose sketch is hanging in the Louvre. Expert examinations of the painting found in Lugano show similarities with Leonardo da Vinci's way of working and put the age on the time of the Renaissance. For the first time in this film the photographs of the examinations are published. The Italian Emidia Cecchini, 74, who inherited the painting from her father, is sentenced to 14 months in prison by an Italian court for illegally exporting a cultural asset. Italy does not believe her that the painting has always belonged to her family and has been in Switzerland for many years and asks Switzerland for legal assistance and restitution of the painting. Will Switzerland follow Italy’s request or protect the owner's property? The story that takes on the contours of a thriller had a final turning point recently. Annette Frei Berthoud reconstructs in this documentary the whole story, gives voice to the owner, the lawyers, the historians, the art historians.


Wednesday 16 October    21:05   RSI


Cast and Crew

Georgia – Myths and Modernity


Georgia, the country in the Caucasus, has its own language and writing and is known as the cradle of wine. The traditional choirs and folk dances are important for the identity of the people. Georgia is one of the oldest Christian countries and the most modern in the region. After a successful fight against corruption, everyday life and bureaucracy are fully digitalized. The new transparency is symbolized in the capital Tbilisi by modern architecture with a lot of glass, but at the same time the enchanting old town disintegrates. Young men and women, an artist, an entrepreneur, a bishop and a Swiss with a Georgian passport tell of their Georgia and what they want for the future. Does Georgia manage the balancing act between preserving tradition and the digital age, between Russia and Europe? A film about a small country with great ambitions.


Film Clip

B E R T H O U D   M E D I A   P R O D U C T I O N

I   HOME     I   FILM & VIDEO     I    FILMMUSIK    I    ÜBERSETZUNG     I   TEXT   I   CONSULTING      I   TEAM     I    KONTAKT    I   english   I

Leonardo da Vinci

und das Gemälde der Isabella d’Este


2013 taucht in Lugano ein Ölbild auf, das Leonardo da Vinci zugeschrieben wird, das Porträt der Isabella d’Este, Markgräfin von Mantua. Die Besitzerin des Gemäldes, Emidia Cecchini, will es gerade für 140 Millionen Euro verkaufen, als Italien sie wegen unerlaubter Ausfuhr anklagt. Das Gemälde wird konfisziert, aber die Schweiz gibt es nicht heraus.


500 Jahre lang wusste man nicht, ob Leonardo das Porträt der Isabella d’Este, dessen Skizze im Louvre hängt, fertigstellte. Expertisen des Gemäldes in Lugano zeigen Übereinstimmungen mit Leonardo da Vincis Arbeitsweise und legen das Alter auf die Zeit der Renaissance. Zum ersten Mal werden in diesem Film die Bilder der Expertise veröffentlicht. Die Italienerin Emidia Cecchini, 74, die das Gemälde von ihrem Vater geerbt hat, wird von einem italienischen Gericht wegen illegaler Ausfuhr eines Kulturguts zu 14 Monaten Gefängnis verurteilt. Italien glaubt ihr nicht, dass das Gemälde seit jeher ihrer Familie gehörte und sich seit vielen Jahren in der Schweiz befindet und ersucht die Schweiz um Rechtshilfe und Herausgabe des Gemäldes. Wird die Schweiz mitspielen oder das Eigentum der Besitzerin schützen? Der Film erzählt die Geschichte des Gemäldes und begleitet Emidia Cecchini im Kampf um ihr Bild.



Mittwoch 16. Oktober 2019 um 21:05:


Themenabend über Leonardo da Vinci im RSI

mit Ausstrahlung des Films


italiano


Cast and Crew


Georgien – Mythen und Moderne


Georgien, das Land im Kaukasus, hat eine eigene Sprache und Schrift und ist bekannt als Wiege des Weins. Die traditionellen Chöre und Volkstänze sind wichtig für die Identität. Georgien ist eines der ältesten christlichen Länder und zugleich das modernste in dieser Region. Nach erfolgreichem Kampf gegen die Korruption sind Alltag und Bürokratie voll digitalisiert. Die neue Transparenz wird in der Hauptstadt Tbilissi durch moderne Architektur mit viel Glas symbolisiert, aber gleichzeitig zerfällt die zauberhafte Altstadt. Junge Männer und Frauen, eine Künstlerin, ein Unternehmer, ein Bischof und ein Schweizer mit georgischem Pass erzählen von ihrem Georgien und was sie sich für die Zukunft wünschen. Schafft Georgien den Spagat zwischen der Bewahrung der Tradition und dem digitalen Zeitalter, zwischen Russland und Europa? Ein Film über ein kleines Land mit grossen Ambitionen.


Filmausschnitt